Readathon: live

14:00 hours life happens when you’re busy making readathon plans: we’re leaving two hours earlier than expected. Read? Newspaper. I’m taking my book with me, but not great at reading in the car. This might turn out to be a eight hour readathon.

16:00 hours

22:00 hours back home, read about forty pages. Book is weird enough and versatile enough to probably easily get me through the next hours. Going to read until I reach the last fifty pages: I need something left for work – traffic transport this week.

24:00 hours I started reading at 14.15: page 45. Now, at 23:45, I’m at page 149. Little over a hundred pages in ten hours is nothing in my book, but as I might have been reading less than two hours in those ten hours ..not that bad. I’m taking the book to bed, in case I wake up somewhere during the night. I wonder if I will dream of art deco movies on Venus because of it.

10:00 hours Page 175, good morning. It’s been ages since I read in bed, instead of just grabbing my tablet to check on ONTD. I guess this readathon – although I’m participating on the amateur kiddie level – helps you move your focus back to reading. And I say this as someone reading up to eight books  a month.
I underestimated my book keeping skills. No, not administration-wise (though I don’t think I do those too badly either), but books kept to read. I realised I still have Zen & The Art of Motorcycle Maintenance lying around. It doesn’t call to me at all, but it takes the brake off of my reading of Radiance. Approx. four hours for 260 pages, let’s see how this goes.

12:00 hours Now my stubborn streak strikes. Page 260 and I want to be done with it, finish this book in the next two hours so I don’t have to look at it again. The randomness of it (collected stories, scripts, interviews) make it both easier and harder. I don’t have to follow one plot line, but that means there might not be one satisfying conclusion either. I read on.

14:00 hours And that’s it. Done. In the end there was kind of a conclusion, just maybe not the one I thought of to be a possibility. Reviewing Radiance is going to be a challenge. The readathon, even though I felt like I participated in the smallest way (no challenges, friends, donations added), was fun. A throw back to the time of staying up late, waking up early, walking into the restroom with your book – all because reading had to be done. So yes, I’ll probably be around for the October edition.

Author: vanferdinandus

Ik ben een journalist en schrijver die in drie woorden te vatten is: lezen, creëren, schrijven. Voor de verrijking van mijn leven, maar vooral mijn plezier, kijk ik heel graag allerlei soorten films en televisieseries, maak ik foto's uit vreemde hoeken en loop door de aangelegde bossen van Nederland.

Reply?

