The Gilda Stories

The Girl slept restlessly, feeling the prickly straw as if it were teasing pinches from her mother.

I wish I liked this book more. It’s original vampire fantasy, mixed with history from a black woman’s point of view.

The Girl is turned in the fifties of the nineteenth century, and the reader follows her into the fifties of the twenty-first century, adding some science fiction with a dire outlook as well.

I just didn’t care. Some of the secondary characters bring excitement to the chapters, but never stay long enough. Maybe it’s the writing, which feels flat and colourless to me, maybe it’s the main character’s aloofness that prevents me from connecting. It’s only 252 pages yet it took me weeks to get through it. The historical point of view interested me more than all of Gilda’s stories.

It could definitely work as a (mini-)series, I think. I’d give it a second chance on a screen.

The Gilda Stories, Jewelle Gomez, Firebrand Books 1991

Reply?

