The Ocean at the End of the Lane

It was only a duck pond, out at the back of the farm.

I have always been a fan of Neil Gaiman. I feel like his Neverwhere was my first experience with the contemporary fantasy genre. So of course I had my eyes peeled for his latest.

At first I had to get used to the world and the story a little. It starts with a (seemingly) plain grown man, in a normal situation. When the flashbacks start, and his neighbors are introduced, is when the fantasy braids itself into every plot line. It turns into more organic, softer, flowing than I’m used to with Gaiman’s work. The world created is terrifying and beautiful and painted in otherworldly colors.

And in the center of all that it’s just a story about just a young boy that tries to grow up. Because that’s something Gaiman does nicely as well.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman, Harper Collings 2013

Reply?

